

COUNCIL ON SOCIAL WORK EDUCATION

STRENGTHENING THE PROFESSION OF SOCIAL WORK

Leadership in Research, Career Advancement, and Education

1701 Duke Street, Suite 200, Alexandria, VA 22314 TEL 703.683.8080 FAX 703.683.8099 www.cswe.org

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL WORK ACCREDITATION (DOSWA)

COMMISSION ON ACCREDITATION (COA)

CHAIR Deana F. Morrow, PhD, LICSW, ACSW West Virginia University

VICE CHAIR Francis X. R. Origanti, PhD Avila University

COMMISSIONERS Christopher B. Aviles, PhD, MSW Buffalo State College

Christina Bruhn, MSW, PhD Aurora University

Leslie Cook, BSW, MSW, LCSW Campbellsville University

Michael R. Daley, PhD, MSW Texas A&M University - Central Texas

Kim S. Downing, PhD, LCSW, ACSW Elizabeth City State University

Humberto E, Fabelo, PhD, LCSW

Virginia Commonwealth University Catherine Gayle, PhD, LCSW

Savannah State University

Roberta Greene, PhD, MSW University of Texas at Austin (Emerita)

Thomas K. Gregoire PhD, MSW Ohio State University

Maria A. Gurrola, MSW, PhD California State University, Monterey Bay

Michele D. Hanna, PhD, MSW University of Denver

Daria V. Hanssen, PhD, LCSW Marist College

William A. Heiss, MSSW University of Wisconsin - Madison

Lihua Huang, MSW, PhD Grand Valley State University

Isiah Marshall, Jr., PhD, MSW Jackson State University

Cheryl A. McAuliffe PhD, LMSW Adelphi University

Lisa B. Moon, PhD, LCSW Walden University

Megan H. Morrissey, MSW, PhD University of Minnesota - Twin Cities

Larry Morton, II, PhD, MSW Arkansas State University

Larry P. Ortiz, MSW, PhD Loma Linda University

Helen E. Petracchi, PhD, MSSW, ACSW University of Pittsburgh

Lynette M. Reitz, PhD, ACSW, LSW Montclair State University

Dennis J. Ritchie, PhD, MSW George Mason University

Clifford J. Rosenbohm, PhD, LCSW King University

Thomas C. Walsh, BA, MSW, PhD Boston College

Ruth Weinzettle, PhD, LCSW-BACS Northwestern State Univ. of Louisiana

James H. Williams, PhD, MSW, MPA Arizona State University

Shelly A. Wiechelt, BA, MSW, PhD University of Maryland, Baltimore County

DIRECTOR, DOSWA Mary Deffley Kurfess, PhD, LCSW-C

PRESIDENT & CEO, CSWE Darla Spence Coffey, PhD, MSW

CHAIR, BOARD OF DIRECTORS Saundra H. Starks, MSSW, EdD, LCSW Western Kentucky University November 9, 2020

Reyes Gonzalez, Ph.D. President St. Augustine College <u>RGonzalez@staugustine.edu</u>

RE: Reaffirm Accreditation with a Progress Report St. Augustine College (IL) Baccalaureate Social Work Program (BSW) 2015 Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards (EPAS)

Dear President Gonzalez:

At its October 2020 meeting, the Commission on Accreditation (COA) reviewed the Reaffirmation application for the baccalaureate social work program. The COA voted to reaffirm the program's accreditation for eight years, ending in October 2028 with a Progress Report to be reviewed by the program's accreditation specialist.

In taking this action, the Commission identified the following areas of concern:

Accreditation Standard 2.2.10: The program describes how its field education program provides orientation, field instruction training, and continuing dialog with field education settings and field instructors

The program provided a plan for how it will provide orientation, field instruction training, and continuing dialog with field education settings and instructors. However, it was unclear if this plan has been implemented.

The program is asked to describe how its field education program provides orientation, field instruction training, and continuing dialog with field education settings and field instructors.

COA *Reaffirmation* decision types are described in <u>policy 2.6 in the EPAS</u> <u>Handbook</u>.

Submit one (1) electronic copy of the report to Michael E. Leff, Accreditation Specialist, in the Department of Social Work Accreditation, no later than December 1, 2020 for review during its February 2021 meeting.

Reyes Gonzalez, Ph.D., President St. Augustine College November 9, 2020 Page **2** of **2**

COA reaffirmation decision types are described in <u>policy 2.6 in the EPAS Handbook</u>. Please be in touch if there are any questions about this letter or the procedures and actions of the Commission on Accreditation.

Sincerely,

Deare F. Anos

Deana F. Morrow, PhD, LICSW, ACSW Chair, Commission on Accreditation

DFM/MEL/ARH

Cc: Lisa Hines, MBA, PhD, MSW St. Augustine College Department of Social Work LDhines@staugustine.edu